Phantom Class Forum

• May 20, 2024, 02:14:25 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: self draining hull  (Read 3601 times)

self draining hull
« on: June 18, 2008, 08:35:06 PM »

Hi all
I have an old deep hull woodie which I bought earlier this year and I race in the handicap races at Hornsea SC. I am a novice and have a lot to learn, however I no longer usually come last except for last weekend, when we had light winds and a course that was all beats and runs. I have often wondered why anyone would want a self draining hull as when I right the boat after a capsize it doesn't have much water in it, and this is usually quickly cleared by the self bailers. Well last weekend my boat filled with water, I must have been draging about 10 gallons (about 45 kilo's) around with me by the end of the race. It was coming in through the transom flaps and when I lowered the bailers it come in through those as well. I am thinking of sealing up the transom flaps as I don't see what good they do. Has any one else had this problem, and a solution?? Or can I fit a selft draining floor and cut away some of the transom? I would miss the space as I am 18 stone. Any Ideas

mikec

Re: self draining hull
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 09:27:16 PM »

on 669 we are considering making her self draining along the top of the centreboard case but only back to the bolt, so that most of the water would be prevented from gathering in the deepest part of the hull and you still have the full depth where you want to put your feet (and so you don't keep falling over as you tend to in a tupperware boat)

phantom badger

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 10:34:07 PM »