Phantom Class Forum

• May 17, 2024, 09:59:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HELP! My woody's fallen apart!  (Read 2677 times)

AlexOg

HELP! My woody's fallen apart!
« on: July 07, 2011, 08:57:08 PM »

So here's the story:

I've just turned 20, I'm a student and I'm about as broke as a student can be. I sold my ancient Laser in January because I'd grown far, far too big for it (and I was bored of wondering why someone had put a sail on a surfboard). I bought 829 thinking it was a cheap woody that would let me get on the water quickly. Foolishly I jumped on the boat and agreed to buy on the strength of only a few pictures but as I'm broke just trying to pay the rent 99 days out of 100 anything is better than nothing.

So I started to do a few repairs on the boat, a few touch ups here and there etc. and started to wonder why on earth I ever thought it was a good idea to buy a wooden boat. Every time I start a repair I find that the fabric of the boat is wet and soggy. Every time I try to gently remove a piece of wood the fibreglass tape and many layers of paint (which the previous owner seems to have applied in excess to every surface he could find) attached to that piece of wood pull off all of the plies around it. At the moment I'm looking at having to replace most of the transom, a large strip of the hull at the transom, the thwart (the original was an ali tube held in place by epoxy that served almost no structural function at all), the deck from about 4 feet back to a foot in front of the shrouds and all of the paint and varnish inside the cockpit as well as having to resurface both of the foils. I don't have a dry warm place to do this in so there's no way to dry out the fabric of the boat.